Book reviews are strange things

Book reviews can make or break a book.  This, of course, made me feel strange and upset when I finished Splintered:  Sierra’s Legacy by Leslie Wright.  Leslie is a book review blogger who asked me to read and review her book.  I certainly didn’t mind.  She had done the same for me and published it on her blog.

The problem was that I liked the plot of her book better than her novel.  Leslie’s writing style is more in line with the epic fantasy style of Richard Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, and I don’t really like those kinds of novels.

I had no idea what the protocol was, so I emailed her and explained.  And she came back with — I understand; write an honest review, which I did, giving 3 out of 5 stars and a recommendation that if you liked Richard Jordan, I thought you would like Splintered.

I still feel weird about it, especially since I got my lowest review yet over the weekend.  Someone finally slammed me on the mistakes in Promise Kept.  I messaged him through Goodreads.com to thank him.  I know that sounds weird, but I want to know what is wrong with my writing, so I can fix it, and I’ve been kind of waiting on him.  Hopefully, he’ll be the last once I get the edits on Promise Kept.

 

About Brandy Hunt E-books

I am a stay at home mom who likes things that go bump in the dark, especially if it is the full dark found without electric lights at the end of the world. I have a wonderful husband, a daughter, and a dog and am thankful I live in the middle of nowhere on a farm. I also have an unhealthy obsession with Stephen King, but we don’t talk about that much.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

