A riff on a review of A Walk in the Snark by Rachel Thompson

First, you may want to read the review I gave A Walk in the Snark over at Goodreads.com.  I’ll wait; go ahead.

Now why did I come over here to talk even more about the review?  It sounds like a really good review, and I went into exactly the amount of detail I wanted to go into there, but I left a few things out, mainly because I am not your usual woman.

Not that I’m transgendered.  I just don’t understand shoes, purses, and make up.  Oh, I can match a pair of shoes to a purse, and I can apply make up — you don’t graduate from a Southern high school without someone showing you how to do that if your mama hasn’t beaten them to it.  I just don’t understand the attraction of owning more clothes than you can wear in a week or more shoes that you can wear, as in more than one pair.

But does that mean I can’t find the funny in Mrs. Thompson’s OC life?  No, I found the book to be quite funny.  Not really funny hahahaha — more funny smile and tell my husband I’ve found his people.  But that is all I need to be able to enjoy the book.  It is a different look at a different life despite the similarities.

I don’t need to live like Mrs. Thompson to empathize and realize that D. has impacted her entire life.  Most women have a man somewhere in their past who effects every choice they make whether they realize it or not.  I can pick out the similarities (after school jobs to save for college, possessive and jealous boyfriend, finally meeting a sane and sensible man, family life) and stand back and view Orange County life from her POV and say, mighty fine, but I prefer my farm life, thanks.

So yeah, I don’t understand why people either loved or hated the book according to the reviews on amazon.com.  Couldn’t you just like it a lot somewhere in the middle, or does that make me even more unusual?

At this point, though I need to wrap this up.  It is very early in the morning, and I only have an hour before my kid wakes up.  Time for a wee bit of pucker vodka and nice, long bath in the blessed quiet.

About Brandy Hunt E-books

I am a stay at home mom who likes things that go bump in the dark, especially if it is the full dark found without electric lights at the end of the world. I have a wonderful husband, a daughter, and a dog and am thankful I live in the middle of nowhere on a farm. I also have an unhealthy obsession with Stephen King, but we don’t talk about that much.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

