Operation E-book and the surprise email

As some know, I am all about Operation E-book.  I love the idea of giving soldiers books, since it is such small way to give them some relief from their daily grind, and it makes the idea of self promotion more palatable to me when I have to do it.  Put a quarter in, take a quarter out, sort of thing :D.

Anyway, I got a my first thank you email back today from someone in Afghanistan.  This lovely young woman took time out of her schedule to thank me for some thing so small compared to the service she give our country.  I cried a little, then I emailed her to tell her she didn’t need to thank me, it was the other way around.

Sometimes people surprise you so much.  I don’t know how many emails I’ve sent over the last year for Operation E-book, but I do know this is the first thank you.

I don’t need thanks.  I need for our soldiers to come home.  They don’t deserve to have their service squandered on the political agendas of such horrible men.

About Brandy Hunt E-books

I am a stay at home mom who likes things that go bump in the dark, especially if it is the full dark found without electric lights at the end of the world. I have a wonderful husband, a daughter, and a dog and am thankful I live in the middle of nowhere on a farm. I also have an unhealthy obsession with Stephen King, but we don’t talk about that much.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Operation E-book and the surprise email

  1. I’m in the operation E-Drop as well. I’ve got a few books in it, come to think of it, but it’s been a while since I’ve heard any responses out of it. I agree though, it is nice to hear a response from the men and women overseas. I know I would have loved having access to something like this back when I was in the military!

    I’ve got a soon-to-be ex-cousin who was a combat medic working with the Spec Ops teams that took down Bin Laden. It’s pretty amazing stuff to hear about, even if you’ve had prior military experience. The memories never fade, you just find better ways to cope with them.

Leave a Reply

